ajh.pm

ajh.pm
Dornberger Str. 2, 33615 Bielefeld

ajh.pm is an art space opened in Bielefeld in December 2020. It showcases videos and other art projects by international artists at regular intervals. Videos are displayed in a loop at nightfall and can also be viewed for a limited time on this website. Project initiator Audrey Hörmann would like to use this platform to promote dialogue around young and lesser-known, but also established artists and their work.

Opening times Wed + Fri 6–8pm

Statement by Audrey Hörmann

IG @ajh.pm
contact@ajh.pm

Newsletter

5.21 Tobias Zielony
Hurd’s Bank

1/12
2/12Still
3/12Still
4/12Still
5/12Still
6/12Still
7/12
8/12Still
9/12
10/12
11/12
12/12
5.21 Tobias Zielony
Hurd’s Bank
15.10–14.12.21
A telescope acts as an extension of the human eye, doubles as a symbolic prosthesis. A telescope acts as an extension of the human eye, doubles as a symbolic prosthesis. It makes distant objects appear close enough to see in detail, allows them to be viewed in their entirety or observed at all. More
At the same time, the circular image through a viewfinder only ever reveals part of the whole, and it becomes increasingly blurry towards its black edges. Tobias Zielony’s Hurd’s Bank (2019), a video commissioned by the art space Blitz Valletta in Malta, employs static shots through a telescope as a cinematic and artistic device. The artist used a camera fitted with a telescope lens to record ship traffic at Hurd’s Bank: a distant, shallow stretch of water where oil smugglers from Libya (and other ports or states) transfer crude from one ship to another—a kind of maritime darknet. Its footage shows the hazy contours of passing motorboats and container ships, countless luminaries and light points, ship workers on break. All of it appears swallowed by darkness, made dim and vague by its distance and fuzziness. Moving images blur before the viewer’s eyes, evoking a kind of maritime log book with no clear reference to either geographic location or the ships themselves.

A fictional narrator gives a fragmentary account of his observations and experiences during his stay in Malta. The monologue’s actual storyline reconstructs the still-murky murder of Maltese investigative journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia (2017); it searches for explanations and speculates as to connections between corrupt politicians and the mafia underworld, but also ponders Malta’s political role at the far borders of the EU. As the narrator notes, “Who wanted her dead? And why? The people trying to solve these questions live in danger. Something thick and impenetrable lays in front of my eyes. I hope that the opacity is hiding something rather than being the answer itself.” Right before her death, Caruana Galizia had raised allegations of corruption by members of the government and exposed the country’s lucrative cash-for-passports scheme. The articles posted on her blog made her many enemies, particularly among the island nation’s political elite. Despite an extensive investigation and findings holding the Maltese state at least partially responsible for the murder, questions as to its realpolitik motivation remain.

Several passages in the monologue point to a dialectic of the visible and invisible: “I wonder if merely looking at a ship might already be dangerous? The telescope blurs the distinctions between distance and proximity, risk and safety, movement and stillness,” and later, “When I connect the telescope to the camera and aim it at the harbor, I see nothing at first. The noise of the camera blends with the motionless water, magenta and black. The dots of lights make no sense. What am I looking at?” Zielony succinctly sums it up in his use of observation and a telescope to create a meta-reflection, a resonance image for opaque, under-the-surface dealings beyond the law. Like his work in photography and in other videos, the artist moves between documentation and fiction, observation and assertion, staging and deconstruction. Zielony keeps things in limbo, negotiates in an almost unspectacular way the personal and political aspects of an assassination-for-hire—speculates about dark in-between spaces, but also their influence on and collective memory in a country, history, and people.

For many years, Tobias Zielony’s work has focused on youth subcultures and marginalized groups in society, which he mostly photographs in their social surroundings. Photo series by the artists often take a specific location as point of departure. From there the artist embarks on a visual search for traces, cautiously approaches people, gets to know their day-to-day customs and codes, explores their habitus and status. Zielony’s photographs frequently take up tools of photojournalism, in particular a sense of intimacy and proximity to his subjects. Zielony’s chosen protagonists touch on political and social issues in a globalized society, and yet they also always reflect on the image itself as a phenomenon of our time. In 2006 he introduced videos and stop-motion films to his practice, the earliest of which were still closely tied to the photo series in terms of subject matter. His later cinematic works show increased artistic autonomy. Involving and focused on socially-marginalized communities, they probe the line between documentation and fiction, using the emerging in-between spaces to create alternative narratives.

Tobias Zielony (b. 1973 in Wuppertal) studied documentary photography at the University of Wales from 1998 to 2001. He completed his studies there in 2001 and went on to become a master student of Timm Rautert at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, or Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig. Zielony’s work has featured in numerous solo exhibitions, most recently at the Museum Folkwang Essen (2021), Blitz Valletta, Malta (2019), Von der Heydt Museum, Wuppertal (2017), and Berlinische Galerie, Berlin (2013). He has also contributed to group exhibitions and biennials including the 11th Seoul Mediacity Biennale (2021) and shows at Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Vienna (2020), Julia Stoschek Collection, Düsseldorf (2020), and Fotomuseum Winterthur (2019), as well as RIBOCA, the Riga International Biennial of Contemporary Art (2018) and the 56th Venice Biennale, German Pavillon (2015).

Tobias Zielony
Hurd’s Bank, 2019
1-channel HD video, color, sound
14:55 min.
Courtesy of the artist and KOW, Berlin
Text Cynthia Krell
Übersetzung Amy Patton

Close

ajh.pm

ajh.pm
Dornberger Str. 2, 33615 Bielefeld

ajh.pm ist ein Artspace, der im Dezember 2020 in Bielefeld eröffnet wurde. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden hier Videoarbeiten oder Kunstprojekte von internationalen Künstler*innen präsentiert. Die Videos werden bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit im Loop gezeigt und sind auch unter www.ajh.pm zeitlich begrenzt verfügbar. Die Initiatorin, Audrey Hörmann, möchte mit diesem kulturellen Angebot die Diskussion von jungen und weniger bekannten sowie etablierten Künstler*innen und ihrem Werk fördern. 

Jeden Mittwoch und Freitag ist der Raum von 18–20 Uhr für Interessierte geöffnet. Führungen gerne auf Anfrage.

Statement von Audrey Hörmann

IG @ajh.pm
contact@ajh.pm

Newsletter

5.21 Tobias Zielony
Hurd’s Bank

1/12
2/12Still
3/12
4/12
5/12
6/12Still
7/12
8/12Still
9/12
10/12
11/12
12/12
5.21 Tobias Zielony
Hurd’s Bank
15.10–14.12.21
Der Blick durch ein Teleskop funktioniert als Verlängerung und symbolische Prothese für das menschliche Auge. Es bringt etwas Entferntes für das Auge nah genug heran, um das Objekt überhaupt als Ganzes oder dessen Details erkennen zu können. Mehr
Dabei zeigt der runde Ausschnitt immer nur einen Teil des Ganzen und verschwimmt zunehmend an den schwarzen Rändern. Eine solch statische Aufnahme durch ein Teleskop setzt Tobias Zielony als filmisches Gestaltungsmittel bei der Videoarbeit Hurd’s Bank (2019) ein, die als Auftragsarbeit des Kunstraums Blitz in Valletta auf Malta entstanden ist. Ausgestattet mit einer Kamera und einem aufgesetzten Teleskop filmte der Künstler den Schiffsverkehr an der Hurd’s Bank, eine Untiefe außerhalb der 12-Meilen Zone, die unter anderem als Umschlagplatz für den Ölschmuggel aus Libyen (und anderen Häfen bzw. Staaten) bekannt ist – eine Art maritimes Darknet. Es tauchen schemenhafte Umrisse von vorbeifahrenden Motorbooten und Containerschiffen, unzählige Lichter und Leuchtpunkte, Schiffsarbeiter bei der Pause auf. Alles wird von der Dunkelheit verschluckt, bleibt aufgrund der Entfernung und Unschärfe vage. So verschwimmen die Bewegtbilder vor dem Auge des Betrachters und ergeben ein maritimes Logbuch ohne eindeutige Referenzpunkte über die geografische Lage oder die Schiffe selbst offen zu legen.

Ein fiktionaler Sprecher berichtet fragmentarisch von seinen Beobachtungen und Erfahrungen während seines Aufenthalts auf Malta. Der eigentliche Erzählstrang rekonstruiert den bis heute nicht gänzlich aufgeklärten Mord an der Journalistin Daphne Caruana Galizia (2017), sucht nach Erklärungen und spekuliert über die undurchsichtigen Zusammenhänge von politischer Korruption und Mafia, aber auch über die politische Rolle Maltas an der Außengrenze der EU. In seinem Monolog hinterfragt die Hauptfigur „Wer wollte ihren Tod? Und warum? Die Menschen, die versuchen diese Fragen zu lösen, leben in ständiger Gefahr. Etwas Zähflüssiges und Undurchdringliches liegt vor meinen Augen. Ich hoffe, dass diese Trübung eher etwas verbirgt, anstatt die Antwort selbst zu sein.“ Denn die Journalistin hatte zuletzt Korruptionsvorwürfe gegen Mitglieder der Regierung erhoben sowie den lukrativen Handel mit maltesischen Pässen aufgedeckt. Nachzulesen waren ihre Beiträge auf ihrem Blog und sie hatte sich damit zahlreiche Feinde gemacht – insbesondere unter der politischen Elite des Inselstaats. Auch wenn es mittlerweile eine umfangreiche Untersuchung zur Ermordung gab und Teil-Verantwortlichkeiten für den Mord beim maltesischen Staat gesehen werden, bleibt am Ende die Frage nach den realpolitischen Hintergründen.

An mehreren Stellen des Monologs wird die Dialektik des Sichtbaren und Unsichtbaren aufgegriffen: „Ich frage mich, ob das bloße Anschauen eines Schiffes schon gefährlich sein könnte? Das Teleskop verwischt die Grenzen zwischen Distanz und Nähe, Risiko und Sicherheit, Bewegung und Stille.“ oder weiter heißt es: „Wenn ich das Teleskop an die Kamera anschließe und auf den Hafen richte, sehe ich zunächst nichts. Das Bildrauschen der Kamera vermischt sich mit dem regungslosen Wasser, magenta und schwarz. Die Lichtpunkte machen keinen Sinn. Was schaue ich mir eigentlich gerade an?“. Damit bringt es der Künstler selbst auf dem Punkt, indem er den Akt des Beobachtens und das Teleskop als Bildgenerierendes Medium verwendet, um im Sinne einer medialen Metareflexion, ein Resonanzbild für das Opake und das-unter-der-Oberfläche-liegende abseits des legalen Raumes zu kreieren. Wie bei seinen Fotografien und anderen Videoarbeiten bewegt sich der Künstler zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion, Beobachtung und Behauptung, Inszenierung und Dekonstruktion. Geradezu unspektakulär und in der Schwebe haltend verhandelt Zielony sowohl die persönlichen als auch die politischen Aspekte eines Auftragsmordes – spekuliert über die dunklen Zwischenräume, welche das Land, die Geschichte und Menschen möglicherweise prägen und kollektiv erinnern werden.

Seit vielen Jahren richtet Tobias Zielony seinen Blick auf jugendliche Subkulturen und Randgruppen der Gesellschaft, die er zumeist in ihrem sozialen Umfeld ablichtet. Seine Fotoserien haben oft einen konkreten Ort als Ausgangspunkt. Von dort aus begibt sich der Künstler auf eine visuelle Spurensuche, nähert sich behutsam den Menschen, deren Alltagspraktiken und Codes, erforscht deren Habitus und Status. Indem Zielony auf unterschiedliche Mittel der Bildreportage zurückgreift, sind seine Fotografien immer von einer besonderen Intimität und direkter Nähe geprägt. Über seine Protagonist*innen als Motive beschäftigt sich der Künstler mit politischen und sozialen Fragestellungen in einer globalisierten Gesellschaft, aber reflektiert immer auch das Medium Bild als ein Phänomen unserer Zeit. Seit 2006 entstehen vermehrt Videos und Stop-Motion-Filme, die zu Beginn motivisch oftmals noch eng mit den Fotoserien verknüpft sind. Die späteren, filmischen Arbeiten gewinnen an künstlerischer Eigenständigkeit, umkreisen und involvieren teilweise gesellschaftlich marginalisierte Communities, und loten dabei die Grenzen zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion aus, um über die entstehenden Zwischenräume alternative Narrative zu erschaffen.

Tobias Zielony (*1973 in Wuppertal) studierte von 1998 bis 2001 Dokumentarfotografie an der University of Wales. 2001 schloss er dort sein Studium ab und wurde Meisterschüler bei Timm Rautert an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig. Zielony hatte bereits zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen zuletzt im Museum Folkwang Essen (2021), im Kunstraum Blitz, Valletta/Malta (2019), im Von der Heydt-Museum, Wuppertal (2017) und in der Berlinischen Galerie (2013). Außerdem war er an verschiedenen Gruppenausstellungen und Biennalen beteiligt darunter an der 11. Seoul Mediacity Biennale (2021), in der Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Wien (2020), in der Julia Stoschek Collection, Düsseldorf (2020), im Fotomuseum Winterthur (2019), an der RIBOCA1 Riga-Biennale (2018) und an der 56. Venedig Biennale, Deutscher Pavillon (2015).

Hurd’s Bank, 2019
1-Kanal HD Video, Farbe, Ton
14:55 Min
Courtesy der Künstler und KOW, Berlin
Text Cynthia Krell
Übersetzung Amy Patton

Schließen