ajh.pm

ajh.pm
Dornberger Str. 2, 33615 Bielefeld

ajh.pm is an art space opened in Bielefeld in December 2020. It showcases videos and other art projects by international artists at regular intervals. Videos are displayed in a loop at nightfall and can also be viewed for a limited time at www.ajh.pm. Project initiator Audrey Hörmann would like to use this platform to promote dialogue around young and lesser-known, but also established artists and their work.

Opening times Wed + Fri 6–8pm

Statement by Audrey Hörmann

IG @ajh.pm
contact@ajh.pm

Newsletter

3.21 Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Hesam Rahmanian
From Sea to Dawn

1/8
2/8
3/8Still
4/8
5/8
6/8
7/8Still
8/8Still
3.21 Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Hesam Rahmanian
From Sea to Dawn
1.5–14.7.21
Straight away, the video From Sea to Dawn (2016/17) begins with dramatic scenes unfolding on the Mediterranean Sea. We see people being rescued from overcrowded boats, but also floating in the water, stranded or lifeless bodies. Subsequent sequences appear as we know them from the news, as we have recorded them in our collective visual memory: More
scenes of lifesaving arrival on the beach; the provisioning of exhausted human beings; enormous piles of used life jackets; mobile masses of people making their way through Europe; dissuasive border fortifications and security forces; considerate helpers with food and bottles of water. The video ends, as indicated by the title, with an unstoppable human train running to meet the dawn. Shown without sound, it features subtitles that reflect the original soundtrack or journalistically comment on the footage, pointing to the images’ news-media origins.

And yet what we encounter here is not simply the bare media material itself pictures that never fail to roil us as European-socialized viewers, draw our sympathy, shock or even deaden us over time. Artists Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, and Hesam Rahmanian create these moving paintings” by combining media images with found footage material, printing them as individual pictures and painting on them by hand. The painted-on lines, patterns, and embellishments often give rise to a very poetic defamiliarizing effect that brings both playful and grotesque-looking creatures to life. The video covers the individual faces of the migrants with ladybug wings, for example; figures in the human train sometimes appear as floating cloud-entities, as mythical creatures or even as part of a giant, meandering organism. Unexpected mirror effects give some sequences an almost surreal quality; we watch as human bodies or an inflatable boat take on lives of their own, morph and mutate into fantastical beings.

The alienation effects used here seem to force a distance to what it is that we actually believe we are looking at. As a gestural moment, the overpainting acts as a counterpoint to the media news images, overlapping and overlaying an often cruel or tragic reality. This painterly act wraps the depicted scenes and people in a (symbolic) second skin that also protects their privacy. The embellishments counter the news images circulated in the mass media with an alternative narrative of migration — one that does not relentlessly focus on the suffering of others, but creates an aesthetic space for reflection that slows down the process of reading the images and thus also demands a reaction from the viewer. The artists’ series of works not only translate the power of mass media and global inequalities through photography or the moving image; they also always imply questions about the possibilities of representation and an overwriting of the collective visual memory with counter-images.

Ramin Haerizadeh (born 1975, Tehran), Rokni Haerizadeh (born 1978, Tehran) and Hesam Rahmanian (born 1980, Knoxville) have been living and working together in Dubai since 2009. They work as individual artists independent of one another and also propagate a form of collaboration devoid of individuality. The artists met in Tehran in the mid-1990s and each continued to develop his own artistic signature. A few years later, they formed a loose collective and moved into a house in Dubai. The house — a creative site for developing such organically-grown collaborative works as installations, films, objects, and sculptures for exhibitions — is also home to their collection of artworks, mundane items, and found objects. Their exhibitions encompass a combination of perfomance, painting, collage, drawing, videos, and texts, which they often incorporate into site-specific and expansive installations. A first glance would suggest a focus on crises in the Middle East, investigating power structures, and topics of exile and migration in a historical dimension. Yet their works — subversive in terms of visual language and culturally complex in structure — also contain satirical scenes or expose the absurdity of the globalized world. Employed artistic strategies and elements include costumes, role-playing, performative objects, and homemade painting machines that they use to create their expansive installations. Another key component of their practice is exchange and collaboration with cultural practitioners, writers, and artists, who also they invite to participate in their exhibitions.

The trio’s works have featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions and biennials worldwide. Solo exhibitions in recent years include those at Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main (2020); Frye Art Museum, Seattle (2019); Officine Grandi Riparazioni, Turin (2018); MACBA, Barcelona (2017); Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2015); Kunsthalle Zürich (2015); and Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art, Copenhagen (2015). Major group exhibitions include the 22nd Biennale of Sydney, (2020); the Toronto Biennial of Art (2019); the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk (2019); the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi (2017); and the 9th Liverpool Biennial (2016).

From Sea to Dawn, 2016/17
Single-channel color video (rotoscopy), no sound
6:21 min.
Courtesy die Künstler und Gallery Isabelle van den Eynde, Dubai
Text Cynthia Krell
Translation Amy Patton

Close

ajh.pm

ajh.pm
Dornberger Str. 2, 33615 Bielefeld

ajh.pm ist ein Artspace, der im Dezember 2020 in Bielefeld eröffnet wurde. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden hier Videoarbeiten oder Kunstprojekte von internationalen Künstler*innen präsentiert. Die Videos werden bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit im Loop gezeigt und sind auch unter www.ajh.pm zeitlich begrenzt verfügbar. Die Initiatorin, Audrey Hörmann, möchte mit diesem kulturellen Angebot die Diskussion von jungen und weniger bekannten sowie etablierten Künstler*innen und ihrem Werk fördern. 

Jeden Mittwoch und Freitag ist der Raum von 18–20 Uhr für Interessierte geöffnet. Führungen gerne auf Anfrage.

Statement von Audrey Hörmann

IG @ajh.pm
contact@ajh.pm

Newsletter

3.21 Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Hesam Rahmanian
From Sea to Dawn

1/8
2/8
3/8Still
4/8
5/8
6/8
7/8
8/8Still
3.21 Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Hesam Rahmanian
From Sea to Dawn
1.5–14.7.21
Gleich zu Beginn der Videoarbeit From Sea to Dawn (2016/17) spielen sich dramatische Szenen auf dem Mittelmeer ab. Menschen werden aus überfüllten Booten gerettet, gezeigt werden auch im Meer treibende, gestrandete oder leblose Körper. Es folgen Aufnahmen, wie wir sie aus den Nachrichten kennen und im kollektiven Bildergedächtnis abgespeichert haben: Mehr
Szenen der rettenden Ankunft am Strand, die Versorgung von erschöpften Menschen, Berge von benutzten Schwimmwesten, sich bewegende Menschen-Massen auf dem Weg durch Europa, abschreckende Grenzbefestigungen und Sicherheitskräfte, fürsorgliche Helfer*innen mit Wasserflaschen und Lebensmitteln. Das Video endet, wie im Werktitel angedeutet, mit einem nicht abbrechenden Menschen-Zug der Morgendämmerung entgegenlaufend. Als ein Verweis auf den Ursprung der Nachrichtenbilder ist das Video ohne Ton mit Untertiteln versehen, die den O-Ton wider geben oder die Aufnahmen journalistisch kommentieren.

Doch hier begegnen uns nicht nur die nackten Medienbilder, die uns als europäisch sozialisierte Rezipienten immer wieder aufwühlen, mitfühlen, teilweise schockieren oder auch mit der Zeit abstumpfen lassen. Denn für die Erstellung ihrer „bewegten Gemälde“ („Moving Paintings“) kombinieren die Künstler Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh und Hesam Rahmanian, Medienbilder mit Found Footage-Material, drucken diese als Einzelbilder aus und bemalen sie manuell. So entstehen durch die Übermalungen in Form von Linien, Mustern und Ornamenten teilweise sehr poetische Verfremdungen, die sowohl verspielte als auch grotesk wirkende Kreaturen zum Leben erwecken. Im Video werden die Gesichter der Migrant*innen von Marienkäferflügeln verdeckt, die sich bewegenden Körper im Menschen-Zug erscheinen mal als schwebende Wolken-Wesen, als Fabelwesen oder auch als ein mäandernder Riesen-Organismus. Durch den Einsatz von Spiegeleffekten wirken einige Sequenzen fast surreal, indem menschliche Körper oder ein Schlauchboot zu fantastischen Wesen mutieren.

Die hier verwendeten Verfremdungseffekte lassen uns scheinbar in Distanz treten zu dem, was wir eigentlich zu sehen glauben. Die Übermalung, als gestisches Moment, fungiert als Kontrapunkt zu den medialen Nachrichtenbildern und erzeugt dadurch eine Überlagerung einer teils grausamen, teils tragischen Realität. Durch diesen malerischen Akt werden die dargestellten Szenen und Menschen von einer (symbolischen) zweiten Haut ummantelt und deren Privatsphäre geschützt. Sie setzen den massenmedial verbreiteten Nachrichtenbildern eine alternative Erzählung der Migration entgegen, die nicht das Leiden der anderen schonungslos in den Mittelpunkt stellt, sondern einen ästhetischen Reflexionsraum erschafft, der den Prozess des Bilderlesens verlangsamt und somit auch eine Reaktion des Betrachters einfordert. In ihren Werkreihen übersetzen die Künstler somit nicht nur die Macht der Massenmedien und die globalen Ungleichheiten durch die Fotografie oder das bewegte Bild, sondern implizieren immer auch die Frage nach den Möglichkeiten der Repräsentation und einer Überschreibung des kollektiven Bildergedächtnisses durch Gegenbilder.

Ramin Haerizadeh (geboren 1975, Teheran), Rokni Haerizadeh (geboren 1978, Teheran) und Hesam Rahmanian (geboren 1980, Knoxville) leben und arbeiten seit 2009 in Dubai zusammen. Sie arbeiten als Einzelkünstler unabhängig voneinander und propagieren eine Form der Zusammenarbeit die keine Individualität mehr in sich trägt. Sie trafen Mitte der 1990er-Jahre in Teheran aufeinander und jeder entwickelte weiterhin seine eigene künstlerische Handschrift weiter. Einige Jahre später bildeten sie ein loses Kollektiv und bezogen ein Haus in Dubai. Hier entstehen nicht nur ihre organisch wachsenden Gemeinschaftswerke wie etwa Installationen, Filme, Objekte und Skulpturen für Ausstellungen, sondern hier befindet sich auch ihre Sammlung von Kunstwerken, Alltagsgegenständen und gefundenen Objekten. Ihre Ausstellungen sind eine Kombination aus Perfomance, Malerei, Collage, Zeichnung, Videos und Texten, die oftmals in eine raumgreifende und ortsspezifische Installation einfließen. Ihr Interesse gilt auf den ersten Blick den Krisen des Nahen Ostens, der Untersuchung von Machtstrukturen sowie den Themen Exil und Migration in einer historischen Dimension. Dennoch sind ihre Arbeiten bildsprachlich subversiv und kulturell komplex aufgebaut, die auch satirische Szenen beinhalten oder das Absurde der globalisierten Welt offen legen. Zu ihren künstlerischen Strategien und Elementen gehören auch Kostüme, Rollenspiele, performative Objekte und selbst gebaute Mal-Maschinen, die sie bei der Entstehung ihrer raumgreifenden Installationen einsetzen. Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ihrer Praxis ist der Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit mit befreundeten Kulturschaffenden, Schriftsteller*innen oder Künstler*innen, die sie zu ihren Ausstellungen einladen mitzuwirken.

Ihre Werke wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen sowie Biennalen weltweit gezeigt. Einzelausstellungen der vergangenen Jahre fanden in den folgenden Institutionen statt: in der Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main (2020); im Frye Art Museum, Seattle (2019); im Officine Grandi Riparazioni (OGR), Turin (2018); im MACBA, Barcelona (2017); im Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA), Boston (2015); in der Kunsthalle Zürich (2015) und dem Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art, Kopenhagen (2015). Zu den wichtigsten Gruppenausstellungen zählen unter anderem die Teilnahme an der 22. Sydney Biennale, (2020); der Toronto Biennial of Art (2019); im Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk (2019); im Guggenheim Abu Dhabi (2017) und an der 9. Liverpool Biennale (2016).

From Sea to Dawn, 2016/17
Einkanal-Farbvideo (Rotoskopie), ohne Ton
6:21 min.
Courtesy die Künstler und Gallery Isabelle van den Eynde, Dubai
Text Cynthia Krell
Übersetzung Amy Patton

Schließen